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The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) of the U.S. Department of
Health and Human Services, under authority of federal law, imposes a requirement on
state governments to ensure that nurse aides have the education and clinical skills
necessary to care for residents of long term care facilities. See 42 C.F.R. Part 483.
These reguiations also require that each State maintain a nurse aide Registry, which,
pursuant to 42 CFR 483.156(c)(1)(iv), must contain all substantiated findings by the
State of resident mistreatment, abuse, neglect, or misappropriation of resident property
by a certified nurse aide.

The Certification Program of the New Jersey State Department of Health (Department)
was notified of the resuits of an investigation in which sufficient information that you
have been accused of misappropriation, of the property of two (2) nursing home
residents. This occurred on or about January 26, 2017, while you were employed as a
certified nurse aide at Victoria Manor Nursing Center, in North Cape May, New Jersey.

Specifically, it is alleged that on January 28, 2017, you misappropriated the property of
a vulnerable resident entrusted to your care when you took a credit card from a resident
without his consent. The daughter of that resident reported that resident’s credit card
was missing and had an unauthorized charge of over $2000 on it. As part of its
investigation, the facility interviewed other residents on your assignment. One such
resident reported that he had $20 removed from'his‘waflet, which he had placed in his
bedside drawer, on January 24, 2017. In addition, when you were interviewed by the
police and presented with the security camera video at one of the stores where the card
was used, you then admitted to taking the card and using it. You were charged with
credit card theft: N.J.S A. 2C:21-6(c)(1) and unlawful taking: N.J.S.A. 2C:20-3(b), based
upon this credible evidence.



On August 15, 2017, you were sent a Notice of right to Hearing prior to having a finding
of misappropriation of resident property being placed next to your name on the New
Jersey Nurse Aide Registry (Registry). This was the iast one of three (3) such letters
sent to you, at three (3) different addresses. At that time, you were notified that you had
30 days to request a hearing to contest the charge against you. This office received nc
such request within the prescribed time.

The first class mail letter was not returned to this office. A check of the Criminal
Background Investigation Unit database and the Nurse Aide Registry on December 13,
20186, did not indicate a new address. If you moved, it is your responsibility to notify the
Nurse Aide Registry and the Criminal Background Investigation Unit of your new
address.

Therefore, in accordance with#2 CFR 483.156(c)(1)(iv), please be advised that a
finding of misappropriafion, will be placed next to your name on the Registry on
September 29, 2017, and will remain on the Registry permanently.

Please surrender your nurse aide certificate and wallet card to:

Office of Program Compliance-Reporting
25 South Stockton Street, 2" Floor

PO Box 358

Trenton, NJ 08625-0358

The certificate and the wallet card are no longer valid and the status of your nurse
aide certification is no revoked.

Please be advised that pursuant to N.J.A.C. 8:39-43.1(a)1, only individuals who
maintain a currently valid nurse aide certificate and are registered in good standing on
the Registry are considered by the Department to be competent to work as a nurse aide
in a licensed long term care facility. A certified nurse aide is ng longer registered in
good standing if a finding of abuse, neglect or misappropriation by the certified nurse
aide is included on the registry. Therefore, if a finding of misappropriation of resident
property remains next to your name on the Registry, you are prohibited from
employment as a certified nurse aide in a licensed long term care facility.

In accordance with 42 C.F.R. 483.156 and N.J.A.C. 8:39-43.7, you are entitied to submit
a written statement contesting the findings noted above. This statement will be
maintained on the Registry. If you wish to submit such a written statement, you must do
so within 20 days of the date of this letter. Your letter should reference “Notice of
Revocation of Nurse Aide Certificate: Contested Findings.”



Please forward this statement to the Office of Program Compliance-Reporting along
with your nurse aide certification and your nurse aide wallet card to the address listed

above.

Sincerely,

Gene Rosenblum

Director

Office of Program Compliance

Division of Certificate of Need and Licensing
GR/bjg

DATE: September 29, 2017
RETURN RECEIPT REQUESTED
US FIRST CLASS MAIL



